Home » NewsBlog » Watch SpaceX launch its Falcon Heavy rocket into space

Watch SpaceX launch its Falcon Heavy rocket into space

The launch will be a test of the most powerful rocket currently in use.

SpaceX is launching its newest rocket, the Falcon Heavy, into space today.

The rocket was designed to bring humans into space and, if successful, will be able to lift more payload than any other American rocket since the Saturn V, the rocket NASA used for its moon landings. For this test run, Falcon Heavy will carry a cherry-red Tesla Roadster, owned by SpaceX and Tesla CEO Elon Musk.

Update: SpaceX successfully launched Falcon Heavy into space. Here’s a view from the rocket of “Space Man” in the driver’s seat of the its cargo, as it heads out into space:

SpaceX YouTube video

Elon Musk posted a photo of the car earlier this week:

Starman in Red Roadster

A post shared by Elon Musk (@elonmusk) on

The launch is now scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 6, at 11:20 am PT / 2:20 pm ET. It was postponed from its original time of 10:30 am PT / 1:30 pm ET due to weather.

Update: The launch has been delayed until 12:45pm PT/ 3:45pm ET.

You can watch the launch below:

Musk, who has said he thinks humans will arrive on Mars in 2025, tweeted the proposed flight profile for his new rocket:

Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos and Google CEO Sundar Pichai both tweeted support for the launch:

In case anything does not go to plan, there is a launch window set for Wednesday, Feb. 7, between 10:30 am and 1:30 pm PT / 1:30 pm and 4:30 pm ET.


Recode – All Go to Source
Author:

Shirin Ghaffary

Powered by WPeMatico

2018-02-07T03:04:37+00:00February 7th, 2018|Categories: News, Social Media|Tags: |