SpaceX says it is now looking to launch on Wednesday, April 18.

Update: SpaceX just tweeted that it is standing down from its launch of NASA’s new planet-hunting satellite. It is looking to reschedule the launch on Wednesday, April 18, according to its statement on Twitter.

NASA is seeking out new planets, and it will use Elon Musk’s SpaceX to launch its newest planet-hunting satellite into space.

Today, SpaceX will launch NASA’s new Transiting Exoplanet Survey Satellite, also known as TESS, at 6:32 pm ET / 3:32 pm PT. TESS will launch on a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket from the company’s Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida.

According to NASA, the TESS “spacecraft will fly in a unique orbit that will allow it to study nearly the entire sky over two years. This special orbit is key in potentially finding thousands of new planets outside our solar system.”

Watch live coverage of the launch at SpaceX’s website or NASA TV’s website beginning at 6 pm ET / 3 pm PT. Or of course you can just watch here below.

For privacy reasons YouTube needs your permission to be loaded.
I Accept

“TESS is NASA’s next step in the search for planets outside of our solar system, known as exoplanets, including those that could support life,” NASA wrote on its website.

There will be only a 30-second window for launch today, which opens at 6:32 pm ET; TESS will be launched into elliptical orbit approximately 48 minutes after launch, according to SpaceX. There is a 30-second backup window for launch on Tuesday, April 17, at 6:13 pm ET / 3:13 pm PT in case today’s launch is a bust.

Recode – All Go to Source
Author:

Kat Borgerding

Powered by WPeMatico